Canine Companion Session Dates

For information on how to enrol in canine companion classes, please visit the Information for New Members page. The following dates apply to the canine companion classes only. The dates for dog sport classes may vary.

Where there is a long weekend or a public holiday on a Thursday, classes for that week will not be held. These dates are listed in the following table in the No Training Dates column. Members and visitors should also note that the BDOC Office is only open when canine companion classes are on.

We offer two timeslots for canine companion classes - Thursday evenings at 7:00pm to 8:00pm and Sunday mornings at 9:00am to 10:00am.

Please note: canine companion classes may be cancelled due to poor weather. The Canine Companion Adverse Weather Policy provides guidance on running classes during hot, cold, or otherwise extreme or adverse weather conditions. In the event that classes are approved to run in less than perfect weather, members are advised to consider the comfort and safety of themselves when deciding whether to attend.

Please note that our 2020 and 2021 canine companion sessions will be 7 weeks in length to accommodate for the extra administration work that our volunteers need to complete to ensure the classes can be run in a COVID-safe manner.

View full dates  

2020 Canine Companion Session Dates

Session 4

Beginner Classes Enrolments full
Start Dates Thursday 29 October and Sunday 1 November
Finish Dates Thursday 10 December and Sunday 13 December
No Training Dates None

2021 Canine Companion Session Dates

Session 1

Beginner Classes Enrolments open Monday 9th November 2020
Start Dates Thursday 28 January and Sunday 31 January
Finish Dates Thursday 18 March and Sunday 21 March
No Training Dates Thursday 4 March, Sunday 7 March

Session 2

Beginner Classes Enrolments open Monday 8th February 2021
Start Dates Thursday 8 April and Sunday 11 April
Finish Dates Thursday 3 June and Sunday 6 June
No Training Dates Thursday 1 April, Sunday 4 April, Thursday 22 April, Sunday 25 April, Thursday 27 May, Sunday 30 May

Session 3

Beginner Classes Enrolments open Monday 19th April 2021
Start Dates Thursday 17 June and Sunday 20 June
Finish Dates Thursday 29 July and Sunday 1 August
No Training Dates Thursday 10 June and Sunday 13 June

Session 4

Beginner Classes Enrolments open Monday 28th June 2021
Start Dates Thursday 12 August and Sunday 15 August
Finish Dates Thursday 23 September and Sunday 26 September
No Training Dates None

Session 5

Beginner Classes Enrolments open Monday 23rd August 2021
Start Dates Thursday 7 October and Sunday 10 October
Finish Dates Thursday 18 November and Sunday 21 November
No Training Dates None